Today we spent the day ice fishing.  Not that we caught any fish but in all honesty, that’s not why I went anyway.

Spending time together… just the 4 of us in the middle of a frozen lake was perfect and after a particularity stressful week, well deserved.

We fished

We skated

We admired the scenery (Can you believe how many people do this?!?!)

Family outings are not what they used to be.   It used to be that when we went grocery shopping, we all went together.  While the grocery store is not really quality family time,  no matter where we go or what we are doing there are always plenty of bonding moments that occur.  I like having the boys with us… I like their company.

Now that they are in their teens, we find that they tend to prefer to stay home during day to day trips and unless we plan something special, hubby and I have a lot of alone time.  I’m not complaining about that either!

When the boys were around 10 or 11 I started realizing that it would only be a few years until we were going to be in this position… I saw this coming and I’m not thrilled the time has arrived.

I’m proud of the men they are becoming but I miss my little men already…

Where did the time go?

