If I could recreate one of my childhood experiences for my own children it would be our visits to Pyramid Place.  It was about a 2 hour drive to Niagara Falls Ontario where Pyramid Place once stood.  We would camp for the night and then go for breakfast at the Skylon tower.  From the tower you could see the park and for my brother and I it was painful as the anticipation built and built.

When we got back in the van my brother and I changed into our bathing suits en route… there was no time to waste (and laxed seat belt laws back in those days just in case my boys are wondering why I don’t let them do that!)  As soon as we arrived and got through the gates we were GONE!   There were slides to ride, monkey bars to climb, tunnels to crawl through, zip lines to race on and loads of spinning to be done.   We ran wild and probably looked wild too.  By the end of the day we were caked in dirt and dumped in the pool to cool off (and clean off)  before heading back to the campground.  If we were lucky, we got to do it all over again the next day.

I miss that kind of energy.

Pyramid Place was short-lived.  It closed in 1983 and was then destroyed by a fire in 1984.  Our family mourned the loss of that park.  Although it was only around for a short time the time we spent there created so many great memories.  When I try to think of a similar spot that’s around today I can’t.  I think times have changed and parents can’t just let their kids take off and be as carefree as we were able to.

After the park closed our family started spending more time at Duffrin Island which was right up the road.  If I can find some pictures it will definitely become a Flashback topic as well.

