So, Monday January 17th was supposed to be Blue Monday,  It’s a day that researchers have found to be most depressing day because of the “Trifecta”.  1.  The holiday bills arrive in the mail,  2. It’s typically a very cold day, and 3. It’s the day when people realize they have failed at their new years resolutions.   As for me… I’m not Blue, read on and see why…..

Benjamin turned 13 this weekend.  I can’t believe 13 years have gone by already.  It was a winter just like this one when he was born.  I remember bringing him home for the first time and just wanting to hold him alone in my room and stare at him.  He was an almost 10 pound package of squish that just melted into my arms, I’d give anything to hold that baby again.  The good news is he still loves hugs and he still melts into the crooks of my arms when I hug him.  That boy is special and I can’t wait to see what he does next. Ben shared his birthday again with his cousin Ayla and we had a great family day here at home.  I’ve said it before, there is no greater comfort then having so much family in our home.  I never want it to end and when everyone leaves, we all fall into this great state of blah.  The house falls back into silence and all that’s left to do is prepare for the week ahead and get back to the everyday.

I know I mentioned in my earlier post and then didn’t come back with the results but here I am, showing you my Project 52 pictures.

Week one – Something from around the house.  I loved the way the light was reflecting off the wall.

Week two – Song Title – “I want Candy”

Week Three – Shades of Gray

I love the challenge of going out to shoot something new every week, it’s helped reignite my love of photography.  I think there is something to be said about having to put a little more thought into what you are going to shoot.  Instead of shooting whats right in front of me, I’m forced to go out and get new ideas, challenge myself to do something different or play with a different setting and light.  It’s been so much fun. I still have a couple more ideas for shades of grey so if I have time this week I’ll add to what I have already submitted (we are allowed 3 entries per week).

In addition to photography and Project 52, I also resolved to get in shape.  I’m doing this not just for the sake of a New years resolution but because I want to do so many things,  things I can’t do or enjoy if I’m not in shape and confident.   I’ll admit that I kind of neglected making good food choices since Christmas but I know what I have to do and I’m determined to do it.  Today is a new day and I’m back at it, Last night I even went to my first Spin class… Yikes.  I knew it would be hard but had no idea just how hard it would be.  The whole time I wondered if I might puke my dinner right there on the handle bars of the bike and then I started to realize that if it takes this level of effort to make a difference, I can’t screw that effort up with poor food choices.  This is going to be hard work but oh so rewarding.

