I don’t think there is much in this world I dislike more than taking a self-portrait.  When I started this blog I didn’t have one picture of myself without my kids or husband in it too.  I love to be behind the camera and don’t much care to be in front of it.  This week on You Capture the topic was “Happy”.  Although I hate having my picture taken, I’m so incredibly happy with where I am in my life.  I’m moving past the nit-picking about my body and I’m moving into a sense of self acceptance and respect for who I am as a Woman, Mom, Wife, Daughter, Sister and Friend.  This picture was taken in Manual mode… More on that below….

So, This is me and I’m redonkulously HAPPY to be shooting in Manual Mode!

Recently a couple of blog friends posted a link to a forum called “Clickin’ Mom’s”    I had visited the site before but couldn’t really understand what it was all about.  Without a membership you couldn’t see past the gates and  ken I wasn’t  up for spending money on the unknown.    I have been trying to improve my photography and the class I took at the local College wasn’t cutting it.  I tried to read articles here and there but as expansive as the world-wide web is, it’s difficult to find articles that link and relate to each other on the subject of photography.  I was honestly close to moving back to auto settings when these friends posted their experience with the site as well as a code for 20% off membership costs.   Did someone say SALE??? I’m in!

I have been a member for just over a week now and I’m absolutely amazed with how much I have learned.   Every day I log in, read a couple of  articles and start practicing.   My camera has gotten a total workout and I have moved from shooting in pre determined settings to Manual!   Manual Baby!  I did not get a degree in rocket science, I did not eat brain food, I did not copy anyone elses paper, I’m rocking Manual mode all by myself and the results aren’t bad!  It feels so amazing to find solutions to the  issues that almost drove me back to Auto.

